The Rugby Kid

get-attachmentaspx

I’ve been meaning to post this article for a while now… But I  haven’t had the time to really put the finishing touches on it… and now that my boy RETRO LARRY hooked me up with the photoshopped banner about two minutes ago.. I think its only right to introduce The FAM to my boy FERRI$-Lo... 

Backstory: I remember walking into the Rugby Store one day and asking for a Pea Coat … only to find out it was sold out in my size.. being the determined shopper I am … I asked a short stocky guy .. who sported an untied bow-tie… with an untucked polo button up, a pair of RRL Raw Khakis, and a Pair of white low-top Vans… (its funny how i don’t forget these things)… if their was a Pea Coat in my size… He Didn’t hesitate … He in fact did find my XL Navy Blue Pea Coat .. that i still wear to this day… faithfully… and from since that day … I make sure that I always stop by the store to pay my boy a visit… and of course cop some LO.. and because I am a fan of  RALPH LAUREN… I went on to work at the Mansion…(the best store ever)

and became FAM… So, when I  found out that my boy Ferri$ raps too.. I had to post this Question and Answer... to Big Up.. good peoples.. because there aren’t many out there… who kill in the booth like he does (Pause)…

– Dap 

 

P.S.

I thought I was done with kicks.. until.. I saw the GRIFFEY’s.. SMH

 

Peep the Q&A and MUSIC after the Jump

T&C:

Who is Ferris-Lo?

FERRI$:
thats a good question ha! to this day i still dont know who i am. i was born in miami, florida in 1988 (dade county) moved to New York City spanish harlem “El Barrio” to be exact. i’ve been here ever since. 
T&C:
What is Lo?
FERRI$:
LO’ stands for Livin’ Outrageous. it also stands for the greatest clothing company ever created (POLO). 
T&C:
Why do you push the polo thing so much?
FERRI$:
honestly, i love POLO to death but i truly push RUGBY and RRL (i know it sounds stupid). I think when people think about Ralph Lauren they know the basics such as POLO, RLX, Purple Label, Black Label, HOME, ETC… the brands that stand out. i dont think people know much about Rugby because it just started in 04′  and RRL just came back around again. i was introduced to Rugby back in 04′ by my father who is the Senior Vice President of Rugby/RRL. he took me into the store and i just fell in love with it. for those who’ve seen the store in nyc can definitely tell you the store is amazing. I loved it so much i ended up getting a job there. 
T&C:
Describe yourself using three Music Artists?
FERRI$:
John lennon meets kanye West at a comedy show featuring Cam’ron lol. 
T&C:
What is your style of music?
FERRI$:
definitely pop punk, Hip-Hop/Trip-hop, electro at times.
T&C:
When did you start taking this music thing serious?
FERRI$:
I really started taking music serious when i graduated from High school. i did a semester at community college and got kicked out. i was like fuck it, im not going to sit around in school for 5 years and wait for the “BIG MOMENT” im going to do what i love to do. i get criticized by my mother every single day but she’ll understand in the long run. 
T&C:
Where do you record?
FERRI$:
I actually record at my crib. my girlfriend bought this package for me they were selling at guitar center it was like a mini mbox, pro tools, speakers, and some other shit. i saved up some money bought a mac book pro and worked from there. i highly recommend it, its so convenient. i think artist should have access to a studio 24/7. 
T&C:
Do you have a team? Who are the players?
FERRI$:
I don’t really have a team, i just have a group of people i hang out with all day. i dont really fuck with too many rappers and shit, but my homey Bodega Bamz. he’s ill. 
T&C:
Do you have a set group of people that you target with your music?
FERRI$:
Na, not really. i really want to just start making music for everybody. i dont have a certain “Group” of people i target. 
T&C:
In one of your songs you said “Fuck Louis Vuition that ain’t fly”…although A bit Blunt… What exactly is your take is on the Gucci, Louis explosion as of the pass two years… 
FERRI$:
Haha, truthfully i was madddddddddddd HIGH when i wrote that shit. i remember when i was like 16 i spent $800 my whole entire check on 2 pairs of gucci sneakers. gucci sneakers that i couldn’t even wear everyday. so i made a vow to myself i said i will never wear Gucci, louis V, or Prada ever again. dont get me wrong there great companies, but personally i dont fuck with their shit. i really felt like why spend so much money on some louis V shit when i cant go spend my money at rugby/rrl and make my shit look just as good. i just hate how everybody rocks louis v, gucci this, monclair that now like come on shit isnt fun anymore. you look like an idiot with a monclair on, and some gucci kicks, louis v wallet or whatever… and your still taking the train with 2 bucks in your pocket. if you stunt, stunt correct.  “Luxury” doesn’t have the same prestige as it used to have. everyone can afford luxury now. call me a hater, but hey im just expressing how i feel.
T&C:
Describe your style of dress?
FERRI$:
I go through a lot of phases man. i like looking really rugged, i take rugby and rrl and put it in my own way. I think being “FRESH” is overrated. i dont preserve kicks i just wear my shits till they get fucked up. you wont be able to take your kicks with you when you die so you might as well wear them.  
T&C:
I myself am A Lo-Head which Era of Lo do you think was the best?
80’s , 90’s , Present? Why?
FERRI$:
I’m going to sound really corny for saying this but as far as POLO from what i seen 92′ was a good year for Ralph. i really didn’t follow much of POLO’s releases but as far as rugby there 04′ shit when they first opened was crazzzzzyyyy. lots of colors madddd Rugby shirts skull and bones everywhere… shit was so crazyy. Rugby just came out with a line for spring/summer called “Into the Wild” which is realllll crazzyyyy as well. as far as RRL, there “Stadium Classic” was so crack.  they came out with this varsity jacket with leather sleeves! for $800. had a tiger on the back and it said double rl in cursive in the front. crazy. 
T&C:
I know you’ve dropped a couple of singles here and there, how soon will we be seeing a Ferris Project?
FERRI$:
honestly i’m not dropping any mixtapes i’ll be dropping songs on the net. me and my homey mike waxx from illroots.com will do like a 10 song mixtape but thats about it. i’m just trying to get my shit out to the labels. 
T&C:
Who will be on the tracks? Any Features?
FERRI$:
We got my homey Bodega Bamz on a few joints but i’ll pretty much be on all my shit. no features. 
T&C:
Any, Shout Outs?
FERRI$:
Yeah!, shout out to my homey dave for interviewing me… Bodega Bamz, Ohla, D-LO’, AND my homey E. EASTSIDE/EL BARRIO!! 
T&C:
Thanks Man.. I Appreciate the Shout Out… 
GEMS FOR YOUR EAR:
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Rugby Kid

  1. Filthy

    who did that banner?
    it is doppppppppe!

    that should be the new banner.

Leave a Reply

